Reliving my bookworm childhood through my bookworm children

The feeling that comes over me when I catch a glimpse of a book from my childhood is almost embarrassing. I mean, I almost squeal. It’s everything in me to refrain from running around asking the people around me if they remember the book, in case they too might share the ecstasy of my find. I’ve been able to restrain these impulses to date, but one day, I will likely stumble across something that will reveal to my fellow op shoppers that I get a tad too excited over small things.
Here are some of the books I have scored from the thrift shop in recent times – I wonder if you enjoyed these too?

20130601-193023.jpg

The thing is, the lads don’t always share my excitement when I come home with these treasures. Some of them, they adore (like ‘Choose your own adventure’), but I am still waiting for them to catch the excitement of Encyclopedia Brown (it will happen, believe me. Watch this space).

Stories from our childhood are special. They remind us of times of imagination that ran wild, secret reading sessions when we were so quiet that perhaps we could almost be invisible. Visits to the library were a tradition for me in childhood, and I am so thrilled when I see my lads in libraries and op shops scouring book shelves for their next adventure. And sometimes my lads are almost invisible too, cloaked by the cover of a great book and an adventure on every page.

20140111-200629.jpg

20140111-200637.jpg

4 thoughts on “Reliving my bookworm childhood through my bookworm children

  1. We just had a bit of a road trip with our 4yo son, which had me feeling nostalgic for Choose Your Own Adventure books. He’s a little too young for them now, but I love to imagine him passing road trip time with those as I used to.

    We just experienced A Fly Went By in a collection! I read a great deal in childhood but mostly don’t remember the books until I see them. I did make a point to buy Serendipity books when Li’l D was an infant! So sweet to share those with him.

Leave a Reply

