Wardrobe Cleansing

Tonight I pulled every item of clothing I own out of my wardrobe. The mountain of clothes on our bed made for some giggles and jumping fun for the lads, but was a stark reminder to me of the insanity of fashion! I rediscovered a number of items that have been hiding amidst the mess that I tackled tonight. I’m sure you can relate to the, “Ah! I forgot I had this!” moment.

It’s almost 2 years since I made the decision to quit buying new clothes. I was never a shopaholic, but I did want to change my spending habits and reinforce the values I want my children to take a hold of. I have purchased just 3 new items of clothing since November 2010. I love the challenge of scouring op shops. Recently, all of my jeans had started tearing at the knees, so the hunt has been on for the perfect op shop jeans. I’ve found a few pairs, and have paid around $5 each. I’m not in love with them, but I refuse to pay $100 for the ideal jeans. I love to look good, but I refuse to be caught up in the ever changing tides of fashion. I’ve got better things to do with my time and money. I know some people are totally freaked out that someone else has farted in my second-hand jeans. I understand it’s not everyone’s thing to recycle fashion. But I’m more than happy to share bum pockets with previous wearers if it saves my hip pocket and gives much needed financial support to charities. Not to mention the environmental benefits.

Tonight I tossed 50+ items of clothing to the charity store. My wardrobe is still full, but now that it’s not bursting at the seams, I’ll actually be able to see each item, and try a few new looks.

I was stoked when I found three pairs of shoes in superb condition for $18 at St Vinnies a few weeks ago. I scored some Chuck Taylor high tops,, near new, for $8 and Asics runners or $4. For Matt, some Merrell walking shoes for $6. Brand new, these same shoes would’ve set us back somewhere around $300. Now that’s retail therapy.

3 thoughts on “Wardrobe Cleansing

  1. I’m definitely a fan of second hand clothing, and I definitely concur that jeans are great when vintage/second hand. When I read how much environmental impact there is just to make one pair of jeans I was astonished – I thought it was great that I just had my mum’s hand-me-downs and plus, they’re better made! Jeans nowadays get ruined so easily and because people machine wash everything and on too high temperatures, they fade and rip so easily.

  2. Great post and well done!! I love second hand clothing too, but find it hard to control myself when prices are so cheap and clothes are plentiful – I have a double bedroom in our house that functions as my wardrobe/dressing room only…. I just underwent a similar clean out you can read about it here: http://pepperboxcouture.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/help-i-need-some-order-in-my-wardrobe-oh-wait-i-can-help-myself-0_o/

    Loved your post, and again well done!! hope you feel as liberated as I did.

  3. Pingback: Yard Sale Psychology | Outnumbered Mumma

Leave a Reply

