A-Z of Gratitude: P is for Photographs

When I was a child, back in the dark ages, cameras were dusted off for special occasions. Small children were not to touch, mainly due to dreaded button that would pop the camera back open and expose the film to light – gasp!! Then it was all over, the pictures would be forever destroyed.
Photography from my childhood was not something that was an everyday occurrence. We didn’t have our parents in our faces while we ate, painted, slept or played monopoly. These everyday moments did not make the cut. Films and processing films was far too costly to take so many happy snaps.

Fast forward to today. Cameras are everywhere and photography has become a part of our everyday lives. I confess, I have been asked by my sons on many occasions to put the camera down. I want to capture their creativity, their attitudes and expressions, their accomplishments and their ever changing faces so I have countless memories. But I’m no stranger to the weird feeling that sometimes reminds me that whilst I focus the lens, I lose the really important focus, the act of BEING in the moment. The photo can become the goal, and that’s a bit sad.

The challenge for me is to do something with the thousands of photos I have, rather than having them on a hard drive.

We found a new app today for the iPad and the boys made a cartoon using Trashies and Lego. This is a great use of a camera- giving children an outlet to create a story all of their own!

My word of advice on the subject of taking photos: Happy snaps give some people the craps. Read between the lines and know when it’s time to live life on the other side of the lens.

Here are a few happy snaps from our day today…

20120714-170349.jpg

20120714-170400.jpg

20120714-170420.jpg

20120714-170445.jpg

20120714-170452.jpg

20120714-170506.jpg

20120714-170518.jpg

20120714-170542.jpg

20120714-170906.jpg

Leave a Reply

