A-Z of Gratitude: E is for e-books and End of school term!

In today’s post I will share with you one thing I am super grateful for and one thing I am thankful I have the means to try.

The lads are all on school holidays for three weeks – respite from the lunchbox filling ceremony and the “Have you got your…” checklist each morning.  We are all so ready for lazy mornings, restful days and family play time with no school interruptions!  Matt is a teacher so we get 13 weeks a year together, and I know how blessed we are.  It’s a wonderful thing to have so much family intensive time.

 

For me, one of the most simple yet indulgent pleasures in life is sitting with a good book in one hand and a cup of tea in the other.  Losing yourself in a book is a wonderful way to wile away the hours. I am thankful for writers – people who dedicate their lives to beautiful words.  Thank you!  I always have a stack of books on the go at any one time.  Last week, my sister-in-law was telling me about ‘The Hunger Games’ trilogy, and how she had to read these because her students were to study the books.  She explained the concept and it mortified me!  She said she felt the same until she found herself utterly absorbed in the books.  Whenever someone describes a book in the way she described The Hunger Games, I want to know what the fuss is about.  I borrowed the first book and it hooked me within a few pages.  My husband then read the book, after urging me to hurry and finish.

I have recently acquired an iPad, and have yet to buy an e-Book.  I have always screwed my nose up at the idea of replacing real books.  It just doesn’t seem right to relinquish the act of pulling your much-loved paperback out of your bag to sneak a few minutes reading in while you wait for the kids after school.  It’s never sat well with me to abandon page turning for screen flicking.  But I really want to find out what happens to Katniss next, so I have purchased my first ever e-Book:  Catching Fire.

The Hunger Games was not one of the greatest books I have ever read, but it presented me with the strangest of plots and likeable characters – and because the audience it is penned for happens to be much younger than I, it was a nice and easy read.

I am considering suggesting the trilogy to my book club for our next gathering.

I’ll let you know how I fare with page flicking…

 

Leave a Reply

