A-Z of Gratitude: D is for distractions

I’ve been MIA for a while because I’ve been distracted. My distractions have been quite surprising to be honest. My husband has been wondering if I hit my head or if I have had a Nicholas Cage/John Travolta “Face Off” experience with Martha Stewart.

Deep breath… I have a confession to make…

In my first post I declared I would never, ever undertake certain projects. I said I was not one of  “those” mothers who could do anything – that bit is still true, but I am sure trying my hand at more things than I ever have before!

In my new-found creative space, I have been seduced by the sewing machine.  After a few sessions of playing around with my sister-in-law’s machine I was all stitched up and just had to have one of my very own. My friends are in shock, my husband is afraid, and I am in hysterics. This really is a twist in the plot of my life – a twist that has stunned all who know me!!

20120523-202022.jpg

Some of my creations are interesting to say the least. The “Vintage teletubbie look alike” doll (as named by a friend amidst her laughter ) has been a favorite among friend’s daughters.

20120523-202447.jpg

I am also using vintage fabrics to create some jewellery. Guess what my friends and family will receive for gifts for the next decade?!

20120523-201919.jpg

My furniture projects are still distracting me from housework, and I’ll post pics later this week of the drinks cabinet I am working on.  This project was inspired by my Nan who left me her gorgeous tea set.

I have completed the first round of doily tea light holders I mentioned a few posts ago – very happy with how they turned out.

20120523-204129.jpg

I have whipped up four of these reversible winter hats. Asher particularly loves his, and didn’t want it off his cute head for a few days.  I was quite chuffed, even if it meant his temperature was rising.

20120523-202859.jpg

Ah, distractions are so fun!

20120523-202816.jpg

20120523-202942.jpg

2 thoughts on “A-Z of Gratitude: D is for distractions

Leave a Reply

