Redressed dresser

I know I started this blog a few weeks ago by saying I am not one of those amazing crafty mummas.  It is true.  But for some reason over the past week or so I have had loads of ideas for ways to give things around our home a facelift by reusing things other people have thrown away.

On our way back from our camping trip at the start of this week we called into a tip shop.  We purchased this dresser for Asher’s room for $10.

Image

I sanded it back yesterday and decided I would use some chalk paint we have for the drawers so Ash and Isaac can be creative.

Image

Matt went and purchased a $9 sample pot of paint which brought the total cost for the dresser to $19.Image

I painted one side with chalkboard paint also – extra room for drawings or lots of messages like “Boys only” or “Poo”.  Can’t imagine there will be pretty flowers and sunshine drawn on the chalk surfaces…Image

I stenciled a few stars on using a cookie cutter.  The project took me around 5 hours total.  I must admit, I keep looking at it marveling that I did something that looks so funky!! Give me an electric sander and a paint roller over a sewing machine anyday!!Image

4 thoughts on “Redressed dresser

Leave a Reply

