Frugal furniture facelift

We foolishly purchased an ivory dining setting before we had children, having no idea how ridiculously messy tiny people could be.  Now we know.  I mean, why use a napkin when you can just wipe your hands all over  the seat?

I have wanted to buy a new setting for a long while now, but decided to put it off until the kids are at an age where they won’t utterly destroy it. I am starting to realise that age never comes for boys.

I pulled a chair apart a few days ago and figured it couldn’t be too hard to reinvent the look. I have never attempted upholstery in my life, in fact I don’t know if I have even said the word out aloud until this week. A staple gun, a screwdriver, some scissors and wine and I’d be set. I went to the op shop to look for vintage dresses or drapes to give the chairs a new look without spending big bucks on new fabric.

This is what I found at the Op Shop.

From this

To this…

Three down, three to go!  Not perfect, but I had loads of fun – no sewing, knitting, crocheting or any of that hard stuff required!!!  Thanks to Matt for the muscles when needed xx

5 thoughts on “Frugal furniture facelift

      • 🙂 Cannot wait to see how the next 3 turn out. You have me inspired to do my own. It’s a cream colored set as well….my mother tried to warn me. I, of course, was freshly married and had no plans of birthing children who created messes 😉

  1. They look FANTASTIC – love the way the backs of them look as well!!! I think you just may have found a great new creative money maker – lets go to the auction next time and get some great things to redo!!!!

Leave a Reply

